VENUE + TIME:

February 1 – May 4, 2014
Opening: Friday, January 31, 2014, 8 pm

Hamburger Bahnhof
Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin / Historic Hall
Invalidenstr. 50-51, 10557 Berlin
Tue, Wed, Fri 10–6, Thu 10–8, Sat, Sun 11–6





PHOTO CREDITS:

Nick Ash © Courtesy the artist, Isabella Bortolozzi Galerie, Berlin, Tanya Bonakdar Gallery, New York

Susan Philipsz, Part File Score, Digital/Siebdruck auf Leinwand, 185 x 145 cm, 2014 © Courtesy the artist, Isabella Bortolozzi Galerie, Berlin, Tanya Bonakdar Gallery, New York

SUSAN PHILIPSZ

»Part File Score«
24-channel sound installation
Twelve ways to describe Hanns Eisler


The sound works by the internationally acclaimed Berlin-based Scottish artist Susan Philipsz are often created for particular locations and refer to their history and spatial features. For the historic hall of the Hamburger Bahnhof, Philipsz has designed a sound installation that relates both to the building’s former function as a railway station and to the architectonic structure of the hall with its 12 archways. The artist connects the former railway station – a place of departure and arrival, of parting and return – with the eventful life of the composer Hanns Eisler (1898–1962), who lived in Berlin in the 1920s and 1950s. Eisler, who like his mentor Arnold Schönberg had immigrated to the USA in the 1930s, was deported from the country in 1948 due to his pro-communist political convictions. Although Eisler did compose in the twelve-tone technique of his mentor, his conception of socially committed art led him to turn also to 'popular' genres such as music for stage and screen. He was a prolific composer of songs, including many for workers’ choruses and international labor movement rallies. In 1949, while living in the eastern sector of Berlin, Eisler composed the national anthem of the GDR.

Susan Philipsz has created three pieces, based on Eisler’s musical compositions for film, that play one after the other. The composition Prelude in the Form of a Passacaglia (1926) was written for one of Walther Ruttmann’s pioneering abstract animations, Opus III (1924). This score was Eisler’s first composition for film. There is also a melancholy tenor to some of his other compositions. He wrote Fourteen Ways to Describe Rain (1941) for the film Regen (1929) by Joris Ivens. This score was commissioned as part of a collaboraion with Theodor Adorno, culminating in the publication, Composing for the Films (1947). In this same year Septet No.2 (1947) was written for Charlie Chaplin’s film, The Circus (1928), but the composition was interrupted by Eisler’s deportation from the US. Only six movements exist and they were never incorporated into the film.

In keeping with an artistic principle utilized in Study for Strings, presented in 2012 at dOCUMENTA (13) in Kassel, each tone of the compositions was recorded seperately in the studio. In the installation, the tones are distributed among the 24 loudspeakers installed along the entire length of the historic grand industrial hall. With this sound work and its accompanying twelve prints, in which pages of Eisler’s scores are superimposed with pages from his FBI files, Philipsz seeks an approach to Eisler’s aesthetic of the displaced form so as to evoke themes such as life’s journey and the experience of separation and displacement.

Susan Philipsz (*1965 in Glasgow), who won the prestigious Turner Prize in 2010, works primarily with the medium of sound in her investigation of musical and literary sources and specific historical constellations. She frequently makes use of familiar tunes and pop songs, performed in her own voice and recorded, in order to create an acoustic environment that relates to the particular location in an exhibition space or an urban setting. Lately she has made increasing use of instrumental compositions and acoustic material such as field recordings and radio signals, which she adapts for staging in particular settings.

The exhibition by Susan Philipsz is the current project in the series Works of Music by Visual Artists, which Freunde Guter Musik Berlin has presented in collaboration with the Nationalgalerie since 1999 and, since 2002, with MaerzMusik, the contemporary music festival of the Berliner Festspiele. It is the artist’s first institutional solo exhibition in Berlin, where she has lived since 2001.

Program accompanying the exhibition
SUSAN PHILIPSZ
»Part File Score« (2014)

Program:
Welcome – Ingrid Buschmann and Gabriele Knapstein
Introduction to the film music compositions of Hanns Eisler with film excerpts with Peter Deeg and Johannes C. Gall (in German)
Susan Philipsz in conversation with Martin Herbert (in English)

Tuesday, April 29, 2014 • 7 p.m.

Hamburger Bahnhof Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin / Historic Hall Staatliche Museen zu Berlin Invalidenstr. 50-51, 10557 Berlin
Admission free. The exhibition is open until 7 p.m.

Download pressinfo PDF

CURRENT PROJECT:

SCORES

Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers, Jorinde Voigt
Exhibition & Concerts

Exhibition: October 28 – November 13, 2016
Opening: October 27, 2016, 7 p.m.
Concerts: October 28 & 30, November 13, 2016

Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof
Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin / Rieckhallen
Invalidenstraße 50-51, 10557 Berlin
Tue, Wed, Fri 10–6, Thu 10–8, Sat–Sun 11–6

> more

CURATORS:

Ingrid Buschmann
Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V
www.freunde-guter-musik-berlin.de

Gabriele Knapstein
Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof, Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin
www.smb.museum/hbf

PRESS:

Achim Klapp, Tel. ++49-(0)30-2579 7016, presse@freunde-guter-musik-berlin.de
Press text:
Susan_Philipsz_Part_File_Score_eng.pdf
Press photos:
Philipsz Press Photos [PDF]

PRESENTED BY: :

A project by Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V. and Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin.
In collaboration with Berliner Festspiele / MaerzMusik 2014.
Made possible by funding from Hauptstadtkulturfonds and Ernst Schering Foundation.

presented by





in collaboration with


supported by

ORT + ZEIT:

1. Februar – 4. Mai 2014
Eröffnung: 31. Januar 2014, 20 Uhr

Hamburger Bahnhof
Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin / Historische Halle
Invalidenstr. 50-51, 10557 Berlin





PHOTO CREDITS:

Nick Ash © Courtesy the artist, Isabella Bortolozzi Galerie, Berlin, Tanya Bonakdar Gallery, New York

Susan Philipsz, Part File Score, Digital/Siebdruck auf Leinwand, 185 x 145 cm, 2014 © Courtesy the artist, Isabella Bortolozzi Galerie, Berlin, Tanya Bonakdar Gallery, New York

SUSAN PHILIPSZ

»Part File Score«
24-Kanal Sound Installation
Zwölf Arten Hanns Eisler zu beschreiben


Die Klangarbeiten der in Berlin lebenden schottischen Künstlerin Susan Philipsz entstehen oft für einen bestimmten Ort, auf dessen Geschichte und Räumlichkeit sie sich bezieht. Für die Historische Halle des Hamburger Bahnhofs hat sie eine Sound Installation entworfen, die Bezug nimmt zum einen auf die ehemalige Funktion des Gebäudes als Bahnhof und zum anderen auf die architektonische Struktur der Halle mit ihren 12 Stahlbögen. Als Ort von Abfahrt und Ankunft, von Trennung und Wiederkehr bringt die Künstlerin den ehemaligen Bahnhof in Verbindung mit dem bewegten Leben des in den 1920er und 1950er Jahren in Berlin beheimateten Komponisten Hanns Eisler (1898–1962). Eisler, der wie sein Lehrer Arnold Schönberg in den 1930er Jahren nach Amerika emigrierte und der 1948 die USA aufgrund seiner prokommunistischen politischen Überzeugungen wieder verlassen musste, setzte sich zwar mit der Zwölftontechnik seines Lehrers auseinander, wandte sich aber infolge seiner sozial engagierten Kunstauffassung auch ‚populären’ Genres wie der Bühnen- und Filmmusik zu. Er komponierte zahlreiche Lieder, darunter immer wieder Lieder für Arbeiterchöre und für Kundgebungen der internationalen Arbeiterbewegung. 1949 komponierte der im Ostteil Berlins lebende Eisler die Nationalhymne der DDR.

Die Sound Installation von Philipsz basiert auf drei filmmusikalischen Werken Eislers, Präludium in Form einer Passacaglia (1926, für Walter Ruttmann, Opus III, 1924), Vierzehn Arten den Regen zu beschreiben (1941, für Joris Ivens, Regen, 1929) und Septett Nr.2 (1947, für Charlie Chaplin, The Circus, 1928), die nacheinander im Raum erklingen. Einem künstlerischen Prinzip folgend, das Philipsz bereits für ihre 2012 auf der dOCUMENTA (13) in Kassel präsentierte Arbeit Study for Strings anwandte, hat die Künstlerin die Noten der Kompositionen im Studio einzeln aufgenommen. Sie werden wiederum separiert über 24 entlang der Historischen Halle installierte Lautsprecher wiedergegeben. Mit dieser akustischen Arbeit und 12 großformatigen Grafiken, in denen Partiturseiten Eislers mit Seiten aus den ihn betreffenden Akten des FBI überlagert werden, sucht Philipsz eine Annäherung an Eislers Ästhetik der displaced form, um Themen wie die der Lebensreise und der Erfahrung von Trennung, Überwachung und Vertreibung aufzurufen.

Susan Philipsz (*1965 in Glasgow), die 2010 den renommierten Turner Prize gewann, arbeitet in ihrer Auseinandersetzung mit musikalischen und literarischen Vorlagen sowie mit spezifischen historischen Konstellationen überwiegend mit dem Medium Klang. Sie greift häufig bekannte Lieder und Popsongs auf, die sie mit ihrer eigenen Stimme vorträgt und aufnimmt, um damit im Ausstellungsraum oder im städtischen Raum ein auf den jeweiligen Ort bezogenes akustisches Environment zu schaffen. In jüngerer Zeit wählt sie verstärkt instrumentale Kompositionen und akustisches Material wie Field Recordings oder Radiosignale, um dieses Material zu bearbeiten und räumlich zu inszenieren.

Die Ausstellung von Susan Philipsz findet statt im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe Musikwerke Bildender Künstler, die seit 1999 von Freunde Guter Musik Berlin in Zusammenarbeit mit der Nationalgalerie und seit 2002 mit dem Festival MaerzMusik der Berliner Festspiele durchgeführt wird. Es ist die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung der seit 2001 in Berlin lebenden Künstlerin in der Stadt.

Veranstaltung zur Ausstellung
SUSAN PHILIPSZ »Part File Score«

Programm:
Begrüßung Ingrid Buschmann und Gabriele Knapstein
Einführung in die filmmusikalischen Kompositionen von Hanns Eisler mit Filmbeispielen mit Peter Deeg und Johannes C. Gall
Susan Philipsz im Gespräch mit Martin Herbert
(in englischer Sprache)

Dienstag, 29. April 2014 • 19 Uhr

Hamburger Bahnhof Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin / Aktionsraum Staatliche Museen zu Berlin Invalidenstr. 50-51, 10557 Berlin Der Eintritt zur Veranstaltung ist frei. Die Ausstellung ist bis 19 Uhr geöffnet.

Pressemitteilung download PDF

AKTUELL:

SCORES

Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers, Jorinde Voigt
Ausstellung & Konzerte

Ausstellung: 28. Oktober – 13. November 2016
Eröffnung / Auftakt: 27. Oktober 2016, 19 Uhr
Konzerte: 28., 30. Oktober & 13. November 2016

Hamburger Bahnhof
Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin / Rieckhallen
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Invalidenstraße 50-51, 10557 Berlin
Di, Mi, Fr 10-18 Uhr,
Do 10-20 Uhr,
Sa-So 11-18 Uhr

> mehr

KURATORINNEN:

Ingrid Buschmann
Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V
www.freunde-guter-musik-berlin.de

Gabriele Knapstein
Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof, Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin
www.smb.museum/hbf

PRESSE:

Achim Klapp, Tel. ++49-(0)30-2579 7016, presse@freunde-guter-musik-berlin.de
Pressetext:
Susan_Philipsz_Part_File_Score_dt.pdf
Pressefotos:
Philipsz-Pressefotos.pdf

EINE VERANSTALTUNG VON:

Eine Veranstaltung von Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V. in Zusammenarbeit mit Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin.
Mit Unterstützung durch Elektronisches Studio der TU Berlin – Fachgebiet Audiokommunikation.
Gefördert durch Hauptstadtkulturfonds und Schering Stiftung.

Eine Veranstaltung von






In Zusammenarbeit mit



Gefördert durch