VENUE + TIME:

March 14 – May 17, 2009
Opening:
Friday, March 13, 2009, 8 p.m.
Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof
Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin / Historical Hall
Invalidenstr. 50-51 10557 Berlin

Opening hours:
Tue-Fri 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Sat 11 a.m. – 8 p.m.
Sun 11 a.m. – 6 p.m.

CREDITS

with 98 Audio speakers
20 Amplifiers
1 Computer
Electronics
1 Desk
1 Horn speaker
Chairs
Duration: 30:00 Min.
Dimensions variable

Musics:
»Lightness and Weight« by Freida Abtan
»Bad Foot March« by Tilman Ritter, Orion Miller, Cardiff and Bures Miller
»The Sacred War«, Words: Vasily Lebedev-Kumach, Music: Aleksandr Aleksandrov »Murder of Crows Aria«, Music: Tilman Ritter, Words: Cardiff and Bures Miller
»Dread« by Tilman Ritter
»Crows Did Fly (Kathmandu Lullaby)« by Bures Miller

All orchestral arrangements by Tilman Ritter
Performed by Deutsches Filmorchester Babelsberg
Conducted by Günter Joseck
Choir conducted by Viktor Skriptchenko (»Sacred War«) and Tilman Ritter (»Aria«)

Guitars: Orion Miller, Jeff Person, Titus Maderlechner
Bass: Orissa Miller
Drums: Titus Maderlechner
Piano: Tilman Ritter
Additional orchestration: Thomas Stöwer
Singers: Michael Mueller, Sophia Brickwell, Ana Pinto, Anna Retczak, Alexander Steinbrecher, Urmas Pevgonen, Sergej Prjahin, Sergej Shafranovich, Valerij Pysarenko, Dmitri Plotnikov, Nikolaj Pavlenko, Andrej Malynk
Recording, sound mixing and editing: Titus Maderlechner
Installation in Berlin: Rob Feigel, Knut Kruppa,.....

Commissioned by Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary.

PHOTO CREDITS:

Eva Trust
Commissioned by Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary, Vienna
Courtesy the artists, Galerie Barbara Weiss, Berlin, Luhring Augustine, New York

Gunnar Geller
Courtesy the artists, Galerie Barbara Weiss, Berlin, Luhring Augustine, New York

JANET CARDIFF & GEORGE BURES MILLER

»The Murder of Crows«
Mixed Media Sound Installation


With »The Murder of Crows«, their largest sound installation to date, the Canadian visual artists Janet Cardiff and George Bures Miller continue the explorations they embarked on in the mid-1990s into the sculptural and physical attributes of sound. In the otherwise empty historical hall of the Hamburger Bahnhof, 98 loudspeakers are installed. These emit the sounds of voices, music and soundscapes generated by special stereophonic recording and replay techniques, creating a composition that has a direct physical impact on the listener. The special Ambisonic soundfield system generates a greatly intensified aural and emotional space, so that the acoustic events that transpire in the three-dimensional soundspace have a startling, disconcerting immediacy. The installation is conceived like a film or a play, but one whose images and narrative structures are created by sound alone. The three-part work, composed in collaboration with Freida Abtan, Tilman Ritter and Titus Maderlechner, is 30 minutes long.

The installation’s title, »The Murder of Crows«, refers both to the English term for a flock of those birds and to the strange occurrence known as a ‘crow funeral’: when a crow dies, many other crows converge around the body and caw, perhaps in lament, for over 24 hours. Another central reference is the etching »The Sleep of Reason Produces Monsters« by Francisco de Goya from the series »The Caprices« (Los Caprichos, 1799). In this suite of etchings, Goya, in the spirit of the enlightenment, took a critical look at tyranny, ignorance and superstition. In an epoch characterized by political and social upheavals, wars and insurrections, he warned: »Imagination abandoned by reason produces impossible monsters«. His etching depicts a man asleep at a table, head resting on his crossed arms, encircled by a threatening swarm of night creatures. Is he the master of the demons his dreaming imagination conjures up, or do they have mastery over him? Are the birds of horror flying at him or does he incite them to flight? It’s an open question.

In the installation by Cardiff & Miller, one hears Janet Cardiff’s voice, coming from a megaphone lying on a table at the center of the room, relating thoughts and dreams. Like Goya’s sleeping man, she is a captive of her own nightmares, experiencing dreadful scenes fraught with fear and terror. Sounds and noises roam the space of the exhibition like the owls and bats that flit around the sleeper in Goya’s etching. In the transition from one sound world to the next, the work’s structure follows the illogical yet somehow interrelated progressions that we know from the realm of dreams. The sound piece becomes a requiem for a world that has lost its bearings, where a dearth of reason – but also an excess of expedient rationality – has brought forth unimaginable atrocities, madness, and catastrophe.

For this installation, the two artists again employ technical processes they developed for earlier works such as »The Forty Part Motet« (2001), »The Berlin Files« (2003) and »Pandemonium« (2005), now expanding those field-tested control systems through the use of newly created software. Their spatial dramatization of the acoustic material goes far beyond the scope of the classic radio play, as they carry the listener off into a fascinating, uncanny world full of suggestive sounds and dream images.

Janet Cardiff, born 1957, and George Bures Miller, born 1960, live and work in Berlin and Grindrod, British Columbia, Canada. Together they work at the border zone of visual art, audio art, film and theater. In their installations, they explore the affective impact of sound and its influence on our perception and experience. And so the listener, the exhibition visitor, effectively becomes a protagonist in their audio-visual stagings, as with the sound and video walks they have created for numerous exhibitions around the world since 1995.

»The Murder of Crows« exhibition is one in the series of »Works of Music by Visual Artists« which has been presented since 1999 by Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V. in collaboration with the Nationalgalerie, and since 2002 with MaerzMusik – Festival of Contemporary Music | Berliner Festspiele. The work was commissioned by Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary, Vienna for the Biennale of Sydney 2008, where it was first realized.

CURRENT PROJECT:

SCORES

Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers, Jorinde Voigt
Exhibition & Concerts

Exhibition: October 28 – November 13, 2016
Opening: October 27, 2016, 7 p.m.
Concerts: October 28 & 30, November 13, 2016

Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof
Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin / Rieckhallen
Invalidenstraße 50-51, 10557 Berlin
Tue, Wed, Fri 10–6, Thu 10–8, Sat–Sun 11–6

> more

CURATORS:

Ingrid Buschmann
Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V
www.freunde-guter-musik-berlin.de

Gabriele Knapstein
Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof, Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin
www.smb.museum/hbf

PRESS:

Ingrid Buschmann, Tel. ++49-(0)30-215 6120, presse@freunde-guter-musik-berlin.de
Press release:
Cardiff-Miller_Presstext_eng.pdf

PRESENTED BY:

A project by Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V.
Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof, Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin and Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary, Vienna.

In collaboration with MaerzMusik 2009 | Berliner Festspiele. Made possible by funding from Hauptstadtkulturfonds and Canada Council for the Arts.

With support from Bowers & Wilkins Speakers and Canadian Embassy, Berlin.

With thanks to Biennale of Sydney 2008, Galerie Barbara Weiss, Berlin, and Luhring Augustine, New York.

A project by





In collaboration with



Made possible by funding from



With support from



Media partners





Partners

ORT + ZEIT:

14. März – 17. Mai 2009

Eröffnung:
Freitag, 13. März 2009, 20 Uhr
Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof
Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin / Historische Halle

Invalidenstr. 50-51, 10557 Berlin
Öffnungszeiten: Di-Fr 10-18 Uhr, Sa 11-20 Uhr, So 11-18 Uhr

CREDITS

mit 98 Lautsprechern
20 Verstärkern
1 Computer
Elektronik
1 Tisch
1 Trichterlautsprecher
Stühlen
Dauer: 30:00 Min.
Maße variabel

Verwendete Musiken:
»Lightness and Weight« von Freida Abtan
»Bad Foot March« von Tilman Ritter, Orion Miller, Cardiff und Bures Miller
»The Sacred War«, Text: Vasily Lebedev-Kumach, Musik: Aleksandr Aleksandrov »Murder of Crows Aria«, Musik: Tilman Ritter, Text: Cardiff und Bures Miller
»Dread« von Tilman Ritter
»Crows Did Fly (Kathmandu Lullaby)« von Bures Miller

Sämtliche Orchesterarrangements von Tilman Ritter
Eingespielt von Deutsches Filmorchester Babelsberg
Dirigiert von Günter Joseck
Chor geleitet von Viktor Skriptchenko (»Sacred War«) und Tilman Ritter (»Aria«)

Gitarren: Orion Miller, Jeff Person, Titus Maderlechner
Bass: Orissa Miller
Schlagzeug: Titus Maderlechner
Klavier: Tilman Ritter
Zusätzliche Orchestrierung: Thomas Stöwer
Sänger: Michael Mueller, Sophia Brickwell, Ana Pinto, Anna Retczak, Alexander Steinbrecher, Urmas Pevgonen, Sergej Prjahin, Sergej Shafranovich, Valerij Pysarenko, Dmitri Plotnikov, Nikolaj Pavlenko, Andrej Malynk
Aufnahme, Tonmischung und Bearbeitung: Titus Maderlechner
Installation in Berlin: Rob Feigel, Knut Kruppa,.....
Eine Auftragsarbeit von Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary.

BILDNACHWEIS:

Janet Cardiff & George Bures Miller
The Murder of Crows
Mixed Media Sound Installation
Installationsansicht: Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin 2009
Foto: Roman März
© Courtesy the artists, Galerie Barbara Weiss, Berlin, Luhring Augustine,
New York

JANET CARDIFF & GEORGE BURES MILLER

»The Murder of Crows«
Mixed Media Sound Installation


Mit ihrer bisher größten Sound Installation »The Murder of Crows« setzen die beiden kanadischen Bildenden Künstler Janet Cardiff und George Bures Miller ihre seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre gemeinsam verfolgte Auseinandersetzung mit den skulpturalen und physischen Eigenschaften von Klang fort. In die – ansonsten leere – Historische Halle des Hamburger Bahnhofs werden insgesamt 98 Lautsprecher platziert. Durch die über eine besondere stereophone Aufnahme- und Wiedergabetechnik erzeugten Lautsprecherklänge von Stimmen, Musik und Klangumgebungen entsteht eine Komposition, die den Hörer direkt körperlich anspricht. Die spezielle Ambisonic-Raumklangtechnik erzeugt ein gesteigertes räumliches Hören und Empfinden, und die in dem dreidimensionalen Klangraum auftretenden akustischen Ereignisse sind von bestürzender Präsenz. Die Installation ist konzipiert wie ein Film bzw. ein Theaterstück, allerdings mit allein von Klängen erzeugten Bildern und narrativen Strukturen. Das in Zusammenarbeit mit Freida Abtan, Tilman Ritter und Titus Maderlechner komponierte dreiteilige Stück dauert 30 Minuten.

Der Titel der Installation »The Murder of Crows« bezieht sich auf die englische Bezeichnung für einen Schwarm von Krähen und das ungewöhnliche Phänomen, das als ‚Krähenbegräbnis’ bekannt ist: Beim Tod einer Krähe kommen viele Artgenossen zusammen und stimmen, mitunter über 24 Stunden lang, eine Totenklage an. Darüber hinaus bildet die Radierung »Der Schlaf der Vernunft gebiert Ungeheuer« von Francisco de Goya aus dem Zyklus »Caprichos« von 1799 eine weitere Referenz. In diesem Zyklus setzte sich Goya im Geiste der Aufklärung kritisch mit Tyrannei, Unwissenheit und Aberglauben auseinander. In einer durch politische und soziale Umbrüche, durch Kriege und Aufstände gekennzeichneten Epoche warnte er: »Die Phantasie, verlassen von der Vernunft, gebiert unvorstellbare Ungeheuer«. Seine Radierung zeigt einen an einem Tisch schlafenden Mann; sein Kopf ruht auf den verschränkten Armen, und er wird von einem Schwarm von Nachttieren bedrohlich umkreist. Fraglich erscheint, ob er die Dämonen, die seine träumende Phantasie hervorbringt, beherrscht oder ob er von ihnen beherrscht wird; ob ihm die Vögel des Grauens zufliegen oder ob er sie auffliegen lässt.

In der Installation von Cardiff & Miller hört man aus einem in der Mitte des Raums auf einem Tisch plazierten Megaphon die Stimme von Janet Cardiff, Träume und Gedanken rezitierend. Wie Goyas Schlafender ist sie in ihren eigenen Albträumen gefangen, in denen sie grausame, von Angst und Schrecken erfüllte Szenen durchlebt. Wie die Eulen und Fledermäuse, die den Schlafenden in Goyas Grafik umschwirren, wandern die Klänge und Geräusche durch den Ausstellungsraum. Im Übergang von einer Klangwelt zur nächsten folgt die Struktur des Stücks jenen unlogischen, aber dennoch miteinander in Beziehung stehenden Verknüpfungen, wie man sie aus der Welt des Traums kennt. Die Klangarbeit gerät zu einem Requiem für eine aus den Fugen geratene Welt, in der ein Mangel an Vernunft, aber auch ein Übermaß an Zweckrationalität unvorstellbare Grausamkeiten, Tollheiten und Katastrophen zur Folge hat.

Hinsichtlich der technischen Umsetzung greifen die beiden Künstler in ihrer Installation Verfahren auf, die sie in früheren Arbeiten wie etwa »The Forty Part Motet« (2001), »The Berlin Files« (2003) oder »Pandemonium« (2005) entwickelt haben und erweitern die bereits erprobten Kontrolltechniken mittels einer neu erstellten Software. Mit ihrer räumlichen Inszenierung des akustischen Materials gehen sie weit über die Möglichkeiten des klassischen Hörspiels hinaus und entführen den Zuhörer in eine faszinierende, unheimliche Welt voller suggestiver Klänge und Traumbilder.

Janet Cardiff, geboren 1957, und George Bures Miller, geboren 1960, leben und arbeiten in Berlin und Grindrod, British Columbia, Kanada. Gemeinsam arbeiten sie im Grenzbereich zwischen Bildender Kunst, Hörstück, Film und Theater. In ihren Installationen untersuchen sie die affektive Wirkung von Klang und dessen Einfluss auf unsere Wahrnehmung und Erfahrung. Der Hörer bzw. Ausstellungsbesucher wird dabei zum Akteur in ihren audio-visuellen Inszenierungen, in ihren Sound- und Videowalks, die sie seit 1995 auf zahlreichen Ausstellungen international gezeigt haben.

Die Ausstellung von »The Murder of Crows« im Hamburger Bahnhof in Berlin findet statt im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe »Musikwerke Bildender Künstler«, die seit 1999 von Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V. in Zusammenarbeit mit der Nationalgalerie und seit 2002 mit MaerzMusik – Festival für aktuelle Musik | Berliner Festspiele durchgeführt wird. Die Arbeit wurde im Auftrag von Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary, Wien für die Sydney Biennale 2008 produziert und dort erstmals ausgestellt.

AKTUELL:

SCORES

Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers, Jorinde Voigt
Ausstellung & Konzerte

Ausstellung: 28. Oktober – 13. November 2016
Eröffnung / Auftakt: 27. Oktober 2016, 19 Uhr
Konzerte: 28., 30. Oktober & 13. November 2016

Hamburger Bahnhof
Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin / Rieckhallen
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Invalidenstraße 50-51, 10557 Berlin
Di, Mi, Fr 10-18 Uhr,
Do 10-20 Uhr,
Sa-So 11-18 Uhr

> mehr

KURATORINNEN:

Ingrid Buschmann
Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V
www.freunde-guter-musik-berlin.de

Gabriele Knapstein
Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof, Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin
www.smb.museum/hbf

PRESSE:

Achim Klapp, Tel. ++49-(0)30-2579 7016, presse@freunde-guter-musik-berlin.de
Pressetext:
Cardiff-Miller_Pressetext_dt.09.pdf

EINE VERANSTALTUNG VON:

Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V.
Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof, Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin
und Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary, Wien
In Zusammenarbeit mit MaerzMusik 2009 | Berliner Festspiele.

Ermöglicht aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds und Canada Council for the Arts.
Mit Unterstützung von Bowers & Wilkins Speakers und Botschaft von Kanada, Berlin.
Mit Dank an Galerie Barbara Weiss, Berlin und Luhring Augustine, New York.
Weitere Partner: Deutschlandradio Kultur, Dussmann – das Kulturkaufhaus,
Monopol, primeline und zitty.

Eine Auftragsarbeit von Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary für die Sydney Biennale 2008.

Veranstaltet von





In Zusammenarbeit mit



Gefördert durch



Mit Unterstützung von



Medienpartner





Partner