VENUE + TIME:

September 8-10, 2000, 8 p.m.
Historische Halle Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin

Invalidenstraße 50-51, 10557 Berlin Tiergarten

November 8 + 11-13, 2000, 8 p.m.
Forum Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Museumsmeile Bonn, Friedrich-Ebert-Allee 4


PARTICIPANTS:

Jeffrey Reynolds – tenor
Joan La Barbara – mezzo soprano
Kevin Zoernig – keyboard
Peter Gordon – saxophone, clarinets, keyboard
Christian von Borries – flutes

Choir of the Orchester GENERATION BERLIN
Directed by Christian von Borries

PHOTO CREDITS:

Copyright: Lawrence Weiner

LAWRENCE WEINER / PETER GORDON

»The Society Architect Ponders the Golden Gate Bridge
– or: How they get what they don't deserve«
– Premiere –

An opera by
Lawrence Weiner – libretto and design
Peter Gordon – music


It has the status of a myth: the Golden Gate Bridge, built according to plans by the German engineer Joseph Strauss, officially opened after four years of construction on May 28, 1937; 2.7 kilometers (1.7 miles) long and 27.5 meters (90 feet) wide. Each day, 100,000 cars on six lanes pass through this needle's eye on their way into San Francisco. The bridge has been an inspiration and a backdrop for countless films, stories and legends. And now it inspires the opera project »The Society Architect Ponders the Golden Gate Bridge – or: How they get what they don't deserve« (2000) by Lawrence Weiner and Peter Gordon.

The piece is based on an actual judicial transcript that relates how a high society architect who was driving drunk injured an artist on the Golden Gate Bridge. But instead of receiving justice, the artist himself becomes the object of interrogation by a reactionary judge. Out of an apparently harmless traffic offense, a political discussion is generated as, suddenly, the worth of an artist to society and the role of social privilege in a state governed by the rule of law become the subject of controversy.

Lawrence Weiner, born in New York in 1942, developed his works in the late '60s in the context of so-called »conceptual art«. Since then, works defined by the use of language have been central to his artistic production. Language – and the materials to which it refers – is his artistic material, so all channels of communication that function linguistically are available to work with. In addition to films and video works, posters and books, ideograms and pictograms, Weiner began in the early '70s to make use of the unique qualities of the recording media to transfer certain works into musical-auditory structures. A series of records and tapes created in collaboration with various musicians has since become a vehicle for his language pieces. Since 1978, Weiner has also worked with Peter Gordon, born in New York in 1951, one of the pioneers of New York's minimal/jazz/experimental scene. Gordon's style – rhythmic, angular and straight-ahead with an underlying lyricism – has been realized in instrumental music, operas, soundtracks and other forms. After earlier collaborations on film projects and records, such as »Deutsche Angst« (1982), this is the first major music-theater production by the two artists.

CURRENT PROJECT:

SCORES

Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers, Jorinde Voigt
Exhibition & Concerts

Exhibition: October 28 – November 13, 2016
Opening: October 27, 2016, 7 p.m.
Concerts: October 28 & 30, November 13, 2016

Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof
Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin / Rieckhallen
Invalidenstraße 50-51, 10557 Berlin
Tue, Wed, Fri 10–6, Thu 10–8, Sat–Sun 11–6

> more

CONCEPT:

Ingrid Buschmann, Gabriele Knapstein, Matthias Osterwold
FREUNDE GUTER MUSIK BERLIN e.V.

PRESS:

Press release
Weiner_Gordon-press-engl.pdf

ORT + ZEIT:

8. – 10. September 2000, 20 Uhr
Historische Halle Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin

Invalidenstraße 50-51, 10557 Berlin Tiergarten

8. + 11. – 13. November 2000, 20 Uhr
Forum Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Museumsmeile Bonn, Friedrich-Ebert-Allee 4


BETEILIGTE:

Jeffrey Reynolds – Tenor
Joan La Barbara – Mezzosopran
Kevin Zoernig – Keyboard
Peter Gordon – Saxophone, Klarinetten, Keyboard
Christian von Borries – Flöten
Chor des Orchester GENERATION BERLIN
Leitung: Christian von Borries

BILDNACHWEIS:

Copyright: Lawrence Weiner

LAWRENCE WEINER / PETER GORDON

»The Society Architect Ponders the Golden Gate Bridge
– oder: Wie sie kriegen, was sie nicht verdienen«
– Uraufführung –

Eine Oper von
Lawrence Weiner – Libretto und Gestaltung
Peter Gordon – Musik


Sie ist ein Mythos: die Golden Gate Bridge, entstanden nach Plänen des deutschen Ingenieurs Joseph Strauss, am 28. Mai 1937 nach vierjähriger Bauzeit eingeweiht, 2,7 Kilometer lang und 27,5 Meter breit. Täglich passieren 100.000 Autos auf sechs Fahrspuren dieses Nadelöhr in San Francisco. Für unzählige Filme, Geschichten und Legenden war sie Inspiration und Kulisse. So auch für Weiners und Gordons Opernprojekt »The Society Architect Ponders the Golden Gate Bridge – oder: Wie sie kriegen, was sie nicht verdienen« (2000).

Das Stück basiert auf einem tatsächlichen Gerichtsprotokoll: Laut diesem wurde ein Künstler auf der Golden Gate Bridge von einem Architekten aus der High Society verletzt, als dieser im betrunkenen Zustand Auto fuhr. Doch anstatt Recht zu bekommen, wird der Künstler selbst Untersuchungsgegenstand eines reaktionären Richters. Aus dem scheinbar harmlosen Verkehrsdelikt entsteht eine politische Diskussion, in der plötzlich der Wert eines Künstlers in der Gesellschaft und die Rolle sozialer Privilegien im Rechtsstaat zum Gegenstand einer Auseinandersetzung werden.

Lawrence Weiner, 1942 in New York geboren, hat seine Arbeiten in den späten 60er Jahren im Kontext der sogenannten 'Conceptual Art' entwickelt. Im Zentrum seiner künstlerischen Produktion stehen seitdem Werke, die durch den Gebrauch von Sprache definiert sind. Sein künstlerisches Material ist die Sprache - und die Materialien, auf die sie sich bezieht; seinen Werken stehen somit alle Kommunikationskanäle zur Verfügung, die sprachlich funktionieren. Neben Filmen und Videoarbeiten, Plakaten und Büchern, Ideogrammen und Piktogrammen macht sich Weiner seit Anfang der 70er Jahre auch die medialen Eigenarten von Tonträgern zunutze, um bestimmte Arbeiten in musikalisch-auditive Strukturen zu überführen. In Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Musikern sind seitdem eine Reihe von Schallplatten und Tonbändern entstanden, die zu Trägern seiner Spracharbeiten wurden. Seit 1978 arbeitet er regelmäßig zusammen mit Peter Gordon (*1951 in New York), einem der Pioniere der New Yorker Szene zwischen Minimal, Jazz und Experiment. Sein Stil zwischen rhytmisch-kantiger Geradlinigkeit und hintergründigem Sinn für Lyrisches hat sich in Instrumentalmusik, Opern, Filmmusik und anderen Formen realisiert.

AKTUELL:

SCORES

Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers, Jorinde Voigt
Ausstellung & Konzerte

Ausstellung: 28. Oktober – 13. November 2016
Eröffnung / Auftakt: 27. Oktober 2016, 19 Uhr
Konzerte: 28., 30. Oktober & 13. November 2016

Hamburger Bahnhof
Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin / Rieckhallen
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Invalidenstraße 50-51, 10557 Berlin
Di, Mi, Fr 10-18 Uhr,
Do 10-20 Uhr,
Sa-So 11-18 Uhr

> mehr

KONZEPTION:

Ingrid Buschmann, Gabriele Knapstein, Matthias Osterwold
FREUNDE GUTER MUSIK BERLIN e.V.