Monday March 21, 2011, 10 p.m.

Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof
Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin / Aktionsraum

Invalidenstr. 50-51, 10557 Berlin


Egill Sæbjörnsson, Marcia Moraes – creation, direction
Egill Sæbjörnsson – videos, voice, guitar
Egill Sæbjörnsson, Áki Ásgeirsson, Magnús Jensson – composition
Áki Ásgeirsson, Egill Sæbjörnsson – arrangements

Ensemble Adapter
Kristjana Helgadóttir – flutes
Marc Tritschler – piano, keyboards
Matthias Engler – percussion
Steinunn Arnardóttir, Leópold Kristjánsson – sound effects

Thomas Heidtmann – 3D animation
Karoline Kreissl, Katharina Kamph, Pablo Fernandez – sculpture & installation manufacture
Maria Ebbinghaus, Manuela Altmann – production assistants


Egill Sæbjörnsson & Marcia Moraes
What Got You Here, Won’t Get You There, 2011
Fotos: Frank Paul, ants and butterflies, Berlin

Egill Sæbjörnsson & Marcia Moraes
The Mind III, 2009
Photo: Phile Deprez
Courtesy by the artists, i8 Gallery, Reykjavik & Hopstreet, Brussels

Egill Sæbjörnsson & Marcia Moraes

»What Got You Here, Won’t Get You There« (WP)
Performance | Installation

The Icelandic artist and musician Egill Sæbjörnsson, who lives in Berlin, combines elements of installation and performance, video and live music in his works. In complex, poetically narrative spatial constellations, he himself becomes part of the situation, often together with other artists. Animation, video projection, live music, sound, drawings and the use of everyday objects coalesce in multilayered stories, in which Sæbjörnsson shows an affinity for the absurd as he interweaves the various levels of reality.

Music and sound are an integral component of Egill Sæbjörnsson’s work. In his installations and performances he playfully questions the relationship between notation, instrument, musician and sound. In »What Got You Here, Won’t Get You There«, to be made in collaboration with the Brazilian actor and director Marcia Moraes, he will take up this particular aspect of his work and explore it in a multidimensional performance | installation. The work is being created as part of the »Works of Music by Visual Artists« series, which Freunde Guter Musik Berlin has presented in collaboration with the Nationalgalerie Berlin since 1999 and, since 2002, with MaerzMusik – Festival of Contemporary Music of the Berliner Festspiele.


20 years Works of Music by Visual Artists

Cevdet Erek

Architectural construction with sound & performance

October 19, 2019 – March 8, 2020
Opening: October 18, 2019, 7 p.m.
Concerts & performances in the exhibition: November 2019, January – March 2020

Hamburger Bahnhof
Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin / Historic Hall
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Invalidenstraße 50-51, 10557 Berlin
Tue, Wed, Fri 10–6,
Thu 10–8, Sat,
Sun 11–6

> more


Ingrid Buschmann
Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V

Gabriele Knapstein
Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof, Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin


Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V.
in collaboration with MaerzMusik | Berliner Festspiele and
Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof, Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin.
Funded by
Initiative Neue Musik Berlin e.V.

presented by

in collaboration with

funded by

supported by

with thanks to